What would Sartre have to say about this?

This morning I find myself in an existentialist mood as 2023 draws to a close. It seems fitting to reexamine a few themes that have been occupying my thoughts lately through the philosophical prism of Jean-Paul Sartre. 

As the year comes to a close, I feel compelled to reflect on the nature of meaning and purpose in my life. Sartre would likely remind me that existence precedes essence. We are solely responsible for defining our individual significance through the choices we make within the freedom we are granted. 

I'm also reevaluating my priorities and sense of ambition as I transition into the New Year. Sartre would caution against losing myself in passions that lack authenticity or self-awareness. True joy arises from conscious engagement with the world and others to shape our destiny.

Finally, I'm contemplating my legacy and what I wish to leave behind when I'm done. As an existentialist, Sartre saw self-made earthly achievements as the only form of immortality available. He would advise earnestly devoting ourselves to worthy pursuits that outlast our finite lives.

As the next year approaches, I find motivation in revisiting philosophical pillars that highlight our radical freedom and responsibility as human beings to imbue existence with hard-won meaning. Sartre, for me, remains a complex but compelling voice challenging me to own my choices at every turn in this bewildering, marvellous adventure.

Sartre

On embracing change
Sartre saw existence as preceding essence - we exist first and then define our own meaning. As such, he would applaud the idea of stepping outside one's routine and comfort zone to define a more authentic purpose. He might caution, however, that with radical freedom comes responsibility. 

On the pursuit of passion 
Sartre would argue that rediscovering one's passions and piquing curiosity about life is taking charge of one's own destiny. This aligns with his views on cultivating our freedom to shape our lives in an uncertain world. He might warn against losing oneself in frivolity, however - true joy requires conscious choice.

On contemplation and self-reflection
As an advocate of radical reflection, Sartre would likely extol the idea of looking inward to re-evaluate one's values and priorities. This aligns with his belief that we alone bear responsibility for who we become based on the choices we make.

On being of service to others
Sartre would approve of this as a path to an authentic life. Bringing joy to others allows us to define ourselves by our actions, not just words - living genuinely by being engaged with the world.

Ultimately, Sartre would endorse active pursuit of passion and purpose as a pathway to an authentic life. He would advise that embracing radical freedom means acknowledging hard existential realities. We continually choose who we become based on how we expend our limited time. And if we wish to live genuinely, we must perpetually reevaluate whether our actions reflect our evolving truths. In Sartre's eyes, seizing responsibility for our choices and character constitutes no less than the human imperative. Half-committed or hiding from ourselves equates to surrendering our potential. 

I have a lot of thinking to do between now and the New Year.

the micro blog of soulcruzer @barefootwisdom
Tinylytics: WebRing