word heist

 

Screenshot 2023 11 27 at 15 30 00

Picture this: A dimly-lit room, the air thick with smoke and the musky scent of old books. A lone figure, me, sits hunched over a desk, the only light source a flickering lamp casting long shadows across the walls lined with towering bookshelves. In my hand, a glass half-filled with the amber liquid, the kind that burns your throat but soothes the soul. The night outside is as dark as the thoughts swirling in my head.

Reading, eh? It's not your usual pastime. It's a heist, see? A covert operation where every word, every phrase is not just seen, but swiped, snatched right from under the noses of those unsuspecting authors. They're like those vendors in a crowded market, peddling their wares, unaware of the silent transactions. And here I am, an artful pickpocket in this bustling street of ideas, my fingers deft as they lift concepts, emotions from paragraphs that never saw me coming.

These stolen goods, once mere ink on paper, they undergo a metamorphosis in the gray matter. They're reborn, meanings twisted and turned in the crucible of my consciousness. And the authors? Those crafty weavers of words? They're as much thieves as I am. They've pilfered from life, experiences, the very world around them to spin their yarns.

It's a dance, this silent thievery. Ideas are the currency, understanding the prize. I'm both the thief and the mark. I snatch from the text, and the text, that sly devil, it pilfers from me – my time, my thoughts, even my damned preconceptions, leaving me transformed.

In this realm of words, theft isn't just accepted, it's celebrated. The greatest heists are those where a reader like me walks away richer in thought, emotion, mind brimming with treasures that weren't there before. And in the quiet aftermath of this reading, I'm left pondering – what have I taken, and what in turn has been pilfered from me?

So, is reading not the most exquisite form of thievery? A heist where the loot is the transformation within the soul of the thief? That's the kicker, the twist in the tale. The true magic of the written word lies in this delicate balance of give and take.

The room fades back into shadows as I take another sip, the question lingering in the air like the last note of a jazz solo, echoing in the silence: Isn't reading the most elegant heist of all?

the micro blog of soulcruzer @barefootwisdom
Tinylytics: WebRing